Home Inspector homeElliott Clear ReportHome construction photo's

Certified by the National Association of Certified Home Inspectors - Click here to verify.

Available 7 days a week

Call Bob Elliott
773-410-2896

Protection of
People and
Property
 

Licensed and Certified  
Home and Condo Inspector
Serving :
Chicago and Chicago Area Suburbs
Real Estate Consumer Protection
 

Home Inspection Information

Ask the Home Inspector 

bob@homeinspectorpro.com   For free email  advice, send your questions, comments or ideas to  For issues that are of particular interest to the the community, we may publish (with your permission) your questions along with our answers on this web site.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Buying a new home for your family

kids going back to school is stressful enough with all the time spent getting them ready buying clothes and supplies so if you have been hunting for a new home and found the right one please get a good home inspection to at least have peace of mind that their are no major issues effecting their safety.

When inspecting here in the Chicago area my promise is to always be detailed and thorough by checking as many systems and componants as I can with details in the report on items that may help you with your childrens safety.Most of the time during the home inspection at some point I may ask if you have kids and am not simply being nosey but will focus more report language that direction if needed.

Home inspectionReports are for busted and broken items effecting value of the house but also it is important to me that my comments bear in mind your individual needs in regard to safety.

 

10:48 am 

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Chicago Home Inspections (roof inspection)

As a Home Inspector ,I have many systems and components which need to be examined for the Home Inspection Report, but the most important may be the roof , as water penetration can cause the most damage.

The price of the home inspection is worth it, if inspecting the roof is the only thing the home inspector does.


A good home inspector is the wisest investment after the purchase itself ,if he finds potential
leaks and damage ,before they become major problems.


The seller may basically be unaware there is any problem with the roof.


More often it just goes unknown till there are signs of it inside the living space , such as wall bubbling, stains,peeling wall paper or water dripping onto clothes and furniture.

By then you are looking at major repairs.


The roof could be leaking for years with no visual signs apparent in the house and no damage might be seen in till there is hundreds or maybe thousands of dollars in damage.


The leak could be causing rotted sheathing ,rafters,joists ,dry rot, fungus, insulation damaged etc,inside the walls ,before you know what happened .By then it would be in an advanced stage of deterioration.


A good home inspector will check the gutters, down spouts,and the attic as part of the home inspection.


As buyer ,it would be a good idea to find out from the seller if possible the date of install,warranty, and any leak history.


Not all sellers will have the information for you , but it is still a good idea to ask.

After the roof inspection, your home inspector (meaning myself ) may just be getting started,so hopefully this gives you a little in site into why I will be climbing the roof during your home inspection.

5:35 pm 

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Are your windows safe ?
Safety Glass

 

Certain locations require the use of safety or (aka)tempered glass

This is important due to the fact , people want to buy places with a view, and one of the best ways to see that view is by having large windows.

Many of the Homes and Condo's I inspect have huge windows, which if not checked for proper safety could prove to be a danger to those inside.


There is a certain national safety standard Chicago Home Inspectors go by when examining a property, which helps insure protection of people and property.In certain locations and safety glass must meet CPSC guidelines.


Tempered or Safety glass (interchangable) is made by rapidly cooling the outside layers of glass which causes it to harden to around four times the strength of common glass.


To find out if it is safety glass ,look for a small label near one of the lower corners.

It will look something like this.....

DSCN5345.JPG 

A simple rule of thumb as to where you should find safety glass is if it is 18 inches or lower to the ground , has at least 9 sq feet in size ,and extends to at least 36” above floor.


Doors are another story and all storm doors along with glass panels in doors must comply.

If a 3 inch diameter sphere can pass through them,then they need to be safety glass.


Bathrooms are another area of concern as shower and tub encloses must of course all be safety glass.

Imagine slipping and going through sharp pieces of glass.

Windows that start 60 inches or less above the plumbing drain must also be safety glass.

This is not a complete guide , but should help determine just how safe you and your family are when it comes to Glass and Protection of People and Propery

6:44 pm 

Monday, April 7, 2008

Are your windows safe ?
 

A Rose is beautiful but has thorns

Glass allows us to see beauty but can be dangerous


During any Home ,Condo , or Building Inspection one of the things a good inspector looks for is how safe the dwelling is in regard to the glass which surrounds us.


Forms of glass have been around since the dawn of time through accidental mixing in nature, however the ancient Romans back around 3,000 - 2,000 BC are the ones credited with actually making the substance intentionally.


Today it is everywhere, allowing us to bring healthy and uplifting light into our lives.


There are certain locations around Home and Workplace which require special glass which can protect us in case of accidental falls.

All of us fear the thought of going through a glass pane and having it cut us, which can result in injury or death.


When buying any property, safety concerns should always be your number one priority.

My next post will explain details of where you need certain types of glass or protection, and when exceptions are allowed, along with the reasons why.

11:47 pm 

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Foreclosure Inspection
Just a helpful reminder as the Real Estate buying season gets into full swing.
Many of you are taking a close look at buying foreclosures , and I have found a few obstacles that may not be there otherwise.
Foreclosure properties often have the present owners no longer living there as the Bank or mortgage holder has already taken the Home or Condo.
Often these businesses will try and cut expenses by turning of the utilities .
In one recent case I had the water shut off and as with all inspectors I am not allowed to turn it back on.
This has to much liability as the pipes can burst and we would end up paying for it.
I had one bold client turn it on for me to check and I did the inspection , but heres the catch.
The appraiser was out there before me and reported no running water.
This may be hard to believe but his Loan got held up due to the fact the appraisers report said there was no running water.The lender would not give him the loan on a property with no running water.
So please make sure to have your Agent or whom ever is your Representative tell the mortgage holder they need to have utilities turned on , not just for me , but for the purchase to go through in some cases.
Lucky he was able to show them my report later , but had a big holdup.
The last thing you need is some crazy little hitch stopping you from what you wish for.
BOB
11:55 am 

2012.08.01 | 2008.08.01 | 2008.04.01 | 2008.03.01 | 2008.02.01 | 2008.01.01 | 2007.11.01 | 2007.10.01 | 2007.07.01 | 2007.06.01 | 2007.05.01 | 2007.04.01

Link to web log's RSS file


Top Ten Reasons to Call Me

(10)  Most final walkthroughs are free

 (9)  I am always's available for consultation

free of charge

 (8)  I have the best looking reports in the business

 (7)  I am Licensed by the State of Illinois

 (6)  I am Certified by the National Association of

Certified Home Inspectors

 (5)  I try to be educational and provide insight

into the property I am inspecting

 (4)  I e-mail a confirmation with a copy of the

inspection agreement for you to look at ahead of time

 (3)  I provide photo's and illustrations at high resolution

on a PDF file which you can download .

 (2)  I actually work for only you and care about doing my

best to keep you or your family safe and free from burden

 (1)  You know the best when you find it

Chicago Home Inspector Bob Elliott

Bob Elliott on Zillow

webme1.jpg

Bob
         Elliott (Elliott Home Inspection): Inspector in Chicago, Cook County, Illinois


Elliott Home Inspection  or  Chicago Property Inspection 

  For more information and blogs

Elliott Home Inspection Blog

Chicago Property Inspection Blog

Build a House

Please join me on a daily basis and watch it grow

(Click  to enlarge)

old lines are exposed
footingsix.jpg
rare to see the guts of what once was
cement poured for footing
footingtwo.jpg
No they are not two different colors
footingthree.jpg
some of the dark gravel is just wet
material is brought down
footingfour.jpg
tube is hooked to convyer on truck
Note;truck in back ground
footingone.jpg
cut utilities first
teardownbegin.JPG
note:drop encapsulated
Hope they cut the gas!
teardownone.JPG
Watch the neighbors
teardownthree.JPG
Land owner checks progress
teardownfive.JPG
Note: service mast for electric on left

click here
chicagoland.jpg

click here
logowhite.jpg

IL-1.jpg